Skip to main content


2016 Festival Award Winners Announced!

Posted November 17th, 2016 by Caryn Coleman in Uncategorized


We had such an incredible group of filmmakers at the Nitehawk Shorts Festival this year and think that all are worthy of award recognition. Our jury had a difficult task of determining who would receive the prizes from our sponsors Heard CityNice ShoesPanavisionB&H, Vimeo and the Huffington Post Arts & Culture but we’re delighted to announce the films we felt embodied the NSF spirit in under twenty minutes.


Vegas 1
Festival Jury Award – Saj Pothiawala’s VEGAS
Receiving post-production sound services from HEARD CITY ($16k value) and post-production coloring services from NICE SHOES ($20k value).
DAHLIA_smFestival Jury Runner-Up – Marysia Makowska’s DAHLIA 
Receiving a gift certificate from B&H ($1500 value) and a Pro-Account from VIMEO.
Cinematographer Award – Doron Max Hagay’s VAPE
Receiving an equipment donation from PANAVISON ($7500 value).
cocksuckingtearsHuffington Post Impact Award: Dan Taberski’s THESE C*CKSUCKING TEARS
Awarded to the 2016 Nitehawk Shorts Festival submission that best shines a light on a timely political, social or cultural issue resonating around the world, the winner will be selected by a small panel of HuffPost Arts & Culture writers and editors. The winner will be profiled in a Huffington Post Arts & Culture feature, and will have the opportunity to screen their film at our New York City headquarters.

audiencechoice-2016-nsfAUDIENCE CHOICE AWARDS
Adam Brown & Kyle Kelley’s FLUFFERNUTTER (Midnite), Andrew May’s FINAL_FINAL (Opening Nite), John James Goldbeck’s IN THE END (Matinee One), Grace Rex’s BE GOOD (Matinee Two)
Receiving Pro-Accounts from VIMEO